+254 755 555 555 info@mountkilimanjarosafaris.com

Facts about Kenya

Welcome to Nairobi - The Gateway to Africa

Basic Facts Kenya– Time zone, Location, Topography, Neighbours, government, Weather in Kenya, National Flag and Colours, Commercial banks in Kenya, Major Cities, Tourist Attractions, Languages and Religions; Kenya National Parks.

Location: Kenya is a country located in East Africa.

Size: 580,367 sq km (Land: 569,140 sq km / water: 11,227 sq km)

Neighbours: It shares international borders with Somalia in the northeast, Ethiopia in the north, Sudan in the northwest, Uganda in the west and Tanzania in the south.

Topography: From the coast on the Indian Ocean the Low plains rise to central highlands. The highlands are bisected by the Great Rift Valley; a fertile plateau in the east

Capital City: Nairobi

Other Major Cities: Mombasa, Meru, Eldoret, Nyeri, Machakos, Nakuru, Kisumu

Weather in Kenya: Kenya has a tropical climate. It is hot and humid at the coast, temperate inland and very dry in the north and northeast parts of the country. There are prolonged rains between March and May subsiding in October and November. The temperature remains high for most of the year.

Government: Constitutional republic headed by a democratically elected President. Current Head of State is H.E. President Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta since 09 April 2013.

Independence12 December 1963

National Colours: Black, Red and Green

Population: 40,046,566 Residents

Languages: English and Kiswahili (official); plus several indigenous languages

Culture: Kenya is a culturally diverse country. The dominant ones include the Kikuyu, Luhya, Kamba, Kisii, Luo, Kalenjin and Meru

Economy: Kenya has a liberalised market-based with a lot of manufactures. Natural Resources include limestone, soda ash, salt, gemstones, fluorspar, zinc, diatomite and gypsum. Agriculture is the country’s second-largest sector.

Kenya National Parks: Masai Mara National Reserve, Amboseli National Park, Aberdare National Park, Lake Nakuru National Park, Meru National Park, Marsabit National Park, Tsavo West and East National Parks, Mount Elgon National Park, Mount Kenya National Park, Ruma National Park, Nairobi National Park, Hell’s Gate National Park

Banking: Commercial banks in Kenya include African Banking Corporation, Equity Bank, Family Bank, Fina Bank Ltd, Bank of Africa Kenya, Bank of Baroda, Barclays Bank of Kenya, CFC Stanbic Bank, Charterhouse Bank Ltd, Chase Bank Ltd, Citibank, City Finance Bank, Co-operative Bank of Kenya, Commercial Bank of Africa, Southern Credit Banking Corp. Ltd, Standard Chartered Bank, Credit Bank Ltd, Development Bank of Kenya, First Community Bank Ltd, Giro Commercial Bank Ltd, Guardian Bank, Gulf African Bank Ltd, Imperial Bank, I&M Bank Ltd, Kenya Commercial Bank Ltd, Middle East Bank, Oriental Commercial Bank Ltd, Paramount Universal Bank Ltd, Prime Bank Ltd, Trans-National Bank Ltd, UBA Kenya Bank Ltd, Diamond Trust Bank, Dubai Bank Kenya Ltd, Equatorial Commercial Bank Ltd, Victoria Commercial Bank Ltd

Tourist Attractions: Karen Blixen Museum, Lake Victoria, Haller Park, Nairobi National Museum, Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, Fort Jesus in Mombasa

Currency: Kenyan shilling

Time Zone: Kenya is 3 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT)

Dialling code: +254

Itineraries and safari packages

Kenya Safari Tours

Kenya Safari Wild Animal Sightings

Kenya Wildlife

Lodges & Camps of Kenya

Safari Accommodation

Bespoke Kenyan Safaris

You can tailor-make a safari in Kenya